Professional Storyteller

Share a Story - Change the World

What is your favorite activity to stimulate participation in a storytelling workshop?

Hello there. I have been storytelling for about 6 years and that is also about how long I have been presenting workshops for teachers on how to integrate storytelling, puppets, and songs into the classroom. I have an upcoming workshop that is aimed at both parents and teachers on the hows and whys of storytelling for very young children. I would love some suggestions for "warm ups" to break the ice and make my participants feel comfortable.

Views: 96

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

What about telling a group story. Sit in a circle and everyone takes a turn saying one word of the story until its done, or everyone breaks out laughing, or both.
I like to use finger plays or sometimes stories that require the whole group to participate like "I'm going on a bear hunt," where there is a constant rhythm going on during the whole story. Sometimes I will tell the audience that I am going to tell a story about say... a farm. Then I will ask different small groups to make that animal noise whenever I mention their name. They become quite attentive because they don't want to miss their chance to perform. Young children have such a short attention span that if there is not something that involves them they lose interest and become a distraction.

always a tale to tell,
MyLinda